Rhein-IP Logo
Rhein-IP.com

UPC cost decisions

Every decision of the Unified Patent Court that fixes recoverable costs in the separate cost proceedings, with the amount awarded set against the ceiling under Rule 152.2 RoP.

35 cost decisions, 27 of them with a stated amount. In 8 of the 27 with a known ceiling, the award reached or exceeded it.

Download PDF

Updated weekly. Last updated: 19. October 2026.

Division
Value of the proceeding

35 of 35 decisions

Award against the ceiling

Each bar shows the amount awarded as a share of the ceiling for what the award covers. Awards above the ceiling are lawful: the ceiling caps representation costs only, so court fees, experts and, in some divisions, travel sit on top.

  1. OrthoApnea / (name redacted)Brussels LD, 25. July 2025115%of €38,000
  2. Morello Forni / GastroteamMilan LD, 8. June 2026111%of €56,000
  3. Teleflex / Speed Care MineralHamburg LD, 9. July 2026106%of €200,000
  4. Tandem Diabetes Care / Roche Diabetes CareParis CD, 29. April 2025105%of €112,000
  5. Seoul Viosys / expertDüsseldorf LD, 14. April 2025103%of €112,000, implied
  6. Edwards / MerilMunich LD, 10. January 2025103%of €238,000, implied
  7. Onward Medical / Niche BiomedicalMunich LD, 6. August 2026100%of €112,000
  8. SES-imagotag / HanshowMunich LD, 11. October 2024100%of €200,000
  9. Edwards / MerilMunich LD, 17. October 202596%of €800,000, implied
  10. Seoul Viosys / Photon WaveParis CD, 27. July 202580%of €14,000
  11. Seoul Viosys / expertDüsseldorf LD, 10. April 202677%of €224,000, implied
  12. Kaldewei / BetteDüsseldorf LD, 13. May 202576%of €112,000, implied
  13. Oerlikon Textile / Bhagat Textile EngineersMilan LD, 9. May 202569%of €112,000
  14. Gilead / AMMSMilan CD, 10. July 202667%of €1,200,000, implied
  15. Suinno / MicrosoftParis CD, 6. November 202558%of €600,000
  16. Suinno / MicrosoftParis CD, 31. March 202650%of €600,000
  17. Seoul Viosys / expertDüsseldorf LD, 9. April 202645%of €112,000, implied
  18. Tiroler Rohre / SSABMunich LD, 10. February 202542%of €200,000
  19. SSAB Swedish Steel / Tiroler RohreMunich LD, 10. February 202542%of €200,000
  20. Insulet / EOFlowMilan CD, 15. October 202531%of €1,000,000, implied
  21. 10x Genomics / CurioDüsseldorf LD, 2. February 202630%of €600,000, implied
  22. MSG Maschinenbau / EJP MaschinenMunich LD, 19. March 202530%of €112,000
  23. MSG Maschinenbau / EJP MaschinenMunich LD, 19. March 202530%of €112,000
  24. 10x Genomics / BrukerMunich LD, 24. February 202528%of €1,200,000, implied
  25. Insulet / EOFlowMilan CD, 12. June 202618%of €76,000, implied
  26. Ericsson / AsusTekLisbon LD, 4. April 20254%of €112,000, implied
  27. Ortovox / MammutDüsseldorf LD, 22. April 20252%of €200,000, implied
Ceiling

All cost decisions

Details for Parties
6. August 2026Onward Medical / Niche BiomedicalMunich LD, UPC-CFI-0001569/2025€112,000€112,000100%€1,000,000
10. July 2026Gilead / AMMSMilan CD, UPC-CFI-0001968/2026€800,000€1,200,000implied67%€20,000,000
9. July 2026Teleflex / Speed Care MineralHamburg LD, UPC_CFI_1849/2026€211,000€200,000106%€2,000,000
12. June 2026Insulet / EOFlowMilan CD, UPC-CFI-1230/2026€14,000€76,000implied18%€150,000
8. June 2026Morello Forni / GastroteamMilan LD, UPC_CFI_2046-2025€62,359.32€56,000111%€500,000
7. May 2026Barco / YealinkBrussels LD, UPC-CFI-2265/2025redacted€178,000not stated€1,000,000
10. April 2026Seoul Viosys / expertDüsseldorf LD, UPC_CFI_1110/2025€172,372.80€224,000implied77%€1,000,000
9. April 2026Seoul Viosys / expertDüsseldorf LD, UPC_CFI_1477/2025€50,450.52€112,000implied45%€1,000,000
31. March 2026Suinno / MicrosoftParis CD, UPC-CFI-0000544/2026€300,000€600,00050%€5,000,000
2. February 202610x Genomics / CurioDüsseldorf LD, UPC_CFI_657/2025€180,000€600,000implied30%€5,000,000
2. February 202610x Genomics / CurioDüsseldorf LD, UPC_CFI_658/2025redacted€600,000not stated€5,000,000
5. January 2026Nera Innovations / XiaomiHamburg LD, UPC_CFI_730/2025redactednot statednot stated€1,500,000
5. January 2026Nera Innovations / XiaomiHamburg LD, UPC_CFI_730/2025#160101Read automatically. Read automatically and published because every figure matches the text of the decision. Not yet reviewed by hand.redacted€200,000impliednot stated€1,500,000
6. November 2025Suinno / MicrosoftParis CD, UPC_CFI_724/2025€350,000€600,00058%€5,000,000
17. October 2025Edwards / MerilMunich LD, UPC_CFI_404/2025€771,649.56€800,000implied96%not stated
15. October 2025Insulet / EOFlowMilan CD, UPC_CFI_774/2025€313,773.40€1,000,000implied31%€7,500,000
1. August 2025Alexion / Samsung BioepisHamburg LD, ACT_3177/2025redacted€2,000,000not stated€100,000,000
1. August 2025Alexion / Samsung BioepisHamburg LD, App_43786/2024redacted€2,000,000not stated€100,000,000
27. July 2025Seoul Viosys / Photon WaveParis CD, ACT_6395/2025€11,200€14,00080%€500,000
25. July 2025OrthoApnea / (name redacted)Brussels LD, ACT_7974/2025€43,856.64€38,000115%€250,000
9. July 2025Fujifilm / KodakDüsseldorf LD, ACT_10138/2025redacted€1,500,000not stated€30,000,000
13. May 2025Kaldewei / BetteDüsseldorf LD, App_45185/2024€84,950€112,000implied76%€1,000,000
9. May 2025Oerlikon Textile / Bhagat Textile EngineersMilan LD, ORD_22179/2025€77,064.65€112,00069%€750,000
29. April 2025Tandem Diabetes Care / Roche Diabetes CareParis CD, ACT_831/2025€117,741.62€112,000105%€1,000,000
22. April 2025Ortovox / MammutDüsseldorf LD, ACT_7529/2025€4,866.11€200,000implied2%€2,000,000
22. April 2025Ortovox / MammutDüsseldorf LD, ACT_7605/2025redacted€200,000not stated€2,000,000
14. April 2025Seoul Viosys / expertDüsseldorf LD, ACT_60376/2024€115,078.43€112,000implied103%€1,000,000
4. April 2025Ericsson / AsusTekLisbon LD, ACT_61133/2024€4,946.22€112,000implied4%€1,000,000
19. March 2025MSG Maschinenbau / EJP MaschinenMunich LD, ACT_61090/2024€33,224.50€112,00030%€1,000,000
19. March 2025MSG Maschinenbau / EJP MaschinenMunich LD, ACT_61090/2024#118299Read automatically. Read automatically and published because every figure matches the text of the decision. Not yet reviewed by hand.€33,224.50€112,00030%not stated
24. February 202510x Genomics / BrukerMunich LD, App_15954/2024€337,431.50€1,200,000implied28%€7,000,000
10. February 2025Tiroler Rohre / SSABMunich LD, ACT_59020/2024€84,033.76€200,00042%€1,200,000
10. February 2025SSAB Swedish Steel / Tiroler RohreMunich LD, ACT_59020/2024#62133Read automatically. Read automatically and published because every figure matches the text of the decision. Not yet reviewed by hand.€84,033.76€200,00042%€1,200,000
10. January 2025Edwards / MerilMunich LD, UPC_CFI_249/2023€244,000€238,000implied103%€1,500,000
11. October 2024SES-imagotag / HanshowMunich LD, App_3393/2024€200,000€200,000100%€2,000,000

Notes and quotes are given in English or in the language of the decision.

The scale of ceilings

Annex to the Decision of the Administrative Committee of 24 April 2023. The ceiling applies to representation costs only, per instance, and can be raised or lowered on a request made before the interim procedure closes.

Read the decision of the Administrative Committee (PDF)
Value of the proceedingCeiling
up to €250,000€38,000
up to €500,000€56,000
up to €1,000,000€112,000
up to €2,000,000€200,000
up to €4,000,000€400,000
up to €8,000,000€600,000
up to €16,000,000€800,000
up to €30,000,000€1,200,000
up to €50,000,000€1,500,000
more than €50,000,000€2,000,000

What is counted

A decision is counted when it fixes the recoverable costs on an application for a cost decision under Rule 151 RoP, in the separate cost proceedings of Rules 150 to 157 RoP. Decisions that reject such an application are not counted. Nor are costs fixed outside these proceedings, such as sums the parties agree and the Court writes into the decision on the merits, interim awards on provisional measures, and settlements confirmed by the Court.

The ceiling shown is the one for what the award covers, before any apportionment for partial success. Where the Court does not state it, it is implied from the value of the proceedings, or from the ceilings of several instances or proceedings added up, and marked as implied together with its basis.

New decisions are read automatically every week. A reading is published only when every amount it reports appears in the text of the decision, and anything else is held back for review. Readings not yet reviewed by hand are marked.

A few cost decisions are not published themselves. Their amounts and ceilings are taken from the later published orders that state them.